shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : R0.00
View Cart Check Out


Cape Town Spurs bow out of Nedbank Cup

Cape Town Spurs were defeated 1-0 by the University of Pretoria in the Nedbank Cup on Wednesday evening at the Tuks Stadium.

The solitary goal from Tuks was a penalty scored by Delano Abrahams in the 37th minute of the game following a hand ball given by the referee.

In an effort to bring on some more creativity into the game, coach Ernst Middendorp made triple change and subbed on Ashley Cupido, Bradley Ralani and Keagan Buchanan.

It was not to be as Tuks held onto their lead well, and despite their chances the Urban Warriors were not able to convert.

The result sees Cape Town Spurs bow out of the Nedbank Cup in the Round of 32 as Tuks progress to the next round of the tournament.

University of Pretoria (1) 1 (Abrahams 37’)

Cape Town Spurs (0)

University of Pretoria: T. Mahlangu, S. Gum, H. Majadibodu, T. Mohlamonyane (F. Jesse 89’), T. Mokoena, P. Mkhuma (S. Mpedi 63’), K. Marebane, A. Mvambi (M. Seanego 46’), T. Makungo, D. Abrahams

Cape Town Spurs: N. Boschoff, L. Bern, G. Michael, R. De Goede, S. Nkwali (K. Buchanan 46’), A. Velebayi (R. Dortley 86’), J. Moroole (B. Ralani 46’), K. Maphathe (S. Maduna 79’), C. Butsaka, L. Phewa, B. Radiopane (A. Cupido 46’)