shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : R0.00
View Cart Check Out


Brazilian magic not enough for Spurs

Cape Town All Stars beat Cape Town Spurs 5-3 on penalties (3-3 after extra-time) in a thrilling Nedbank Cup Round of 16 match at Parow Park on Friday afternoon.

Four goals were scored in extra-time before All Stars prevailed from the spot. After seven successful takes, Luther Jacobs denied Ashley Cupido, allowing Thabo Moloisane the chance to kick the winning penalty and he duly obliged.

Igugu Lekapa opened the scoring in the 17th minute through the in-form Waseem Isaacs who netted for the fifth time this season across all competitions.

Spurs were gifted a way back into the match as All Stars netted a comical own goal just after the hour mark. Mix-up between goalkeeper and defender resulted in an equaliser for the visitors with Thabo Makhele credited with the unfortunate final touch.

Lincoln Vyver, star of Spurs’ win over Baroka FC in the round of 32, pulled off a string of superb saves to deny the hosts a winner in regulation time as the game proceeded to an additional 30 minutes.

Junior Batista fired Spurs ahead moments after emerging from the bench on the 100 minute mark, but All Stars levelled matters through Zaahir Witbooi two minutes later.

The drama didn’t stop there and after Igor de Oliveira handed Spurs the lead once more, All Stars hit back through a Ronaldo Maarman free-kick with what proved to be the final attacking play of a topsy-turvy encounter.

In the end, Igugu Lekapa emerged victorious from the spot to book their place in the Nedbank Cup quarter-finals.

Cape Town All Stars (1) 3 (Isaacs 17′ Witbooi 112′ Maarman 119′) 
Cape Town Spurs (0) 3 (Makhele og. 61′ Batista 100′ De Oliveira 113′) 
Cape Town All Stars won 5-3 on penalties. 
Cape Town All Stars: Jacobs; Makhele, Booysen, Moloisane, Ntsabo (Nabo 108′), Mdabuka, Nyembe, Maraisane (Maarman 65′), Mphuthi, Solomons (Witbooi 65′), Isaacs (Clifford 76′).
Cape Town Spurs: Vyver; Stander, Sibande (Dortley 38′), August (Da Silva 67′), Johannes (Batista 99′), Koopstadt, Mfecane (De Oliveira 91′), Dias (Wakefield 38′), Velebayi (Norodien 46′), Butsaka, Cupido.